Tanzania Maps and Orientation

(Tanzania, TZ, East Africa)

Aerial view of Dar es SalaamLocated on the eastern side of Africa and just below Kenya, the United Republic of Tanzania also borders a number of other well-known African countries, namely Burundi, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Malawi, Mozambique, Rwanda, Uganda and Zambia.

The Indian Ocean marks the eastern border of Tanzania and comes with a stunning coastline, where many popular beaches reside. Zanzibar, an autonomous region and archipelago, is also a part of Tanzania and is made up of two significant islands (Unguja and Pemba), as well as numerous smaller islands.

Maps and Orientation of the Country

Including Zanzibar, Tanzania comprises some six main regions (Central, North-East, North-West, Pembwe / South-East, the Southern Highlands and Zanzibar). In total, these are further subdivided into 26 different areas known as 'mikoa'.

Dodoma now serves as the capital city, although former capital Dar es Salaam is a far bigger city and regarded as the political hub, as well as being a leading Tanzanian holiday destination and busy seaport.

Continent Map of Africa

Africa map

Map of Tanzania

Tanzania map

Map of Dodoma

Dodoma map

Map of Dar es Salaam

Dar es Salaam map

Map of Zanzibar

Zanzibar map