University of Auckland Information

(Auckland, North Island, New Zealand NZ)

Auckland UniversityThe University of Auckland was created in 1883, when it was originally part of the expanding University of New Zealand. Founded with less than 100 students, this has become one of New Zealand's leading educational institutions and features exceptional research facilities.

Now the largest university in the whole of New Zealand, the University of Auckland is home to over 30,000 students, including approximately 2,000 Maori students and more than 1,000 international students from all over the world.

Auckland University has excellent facilities, such as large libraries, student halls of residence, museums, galleries, laboratories, theatre areas, lecture halls and beautiful landscaped gardens. The campus plays host to many exciting festivals and events throughout the year and also has numerous popular societies and associations, including numerous sports and athletics clubs.

Auckland University

University of Auckland: University Faculties

The University of Auckland has a number of important different faculties and departments within the complex. Highly-regarded throughout New Zealand, the faculties include:

University of Auckland: University Campuses

The University of Auckland has five main separate campus areas in and around the centre.

Auckland UniversityCity Campus
The main central campus, close to Albert Park and the Central Business District (CBD).

Tamaki Campus
Tamaki Campus is a large undergraduate teaching campus in the Glen Innes area, within easy reach of central Auckland.

Grafton Campus
Grafton Campus, home of the of School of Medicine, is located on Park Road in the city centre, close to Auckland Hospital.

North Shore Campus
Founded in 2001, the North Shore Campus stands on Hurstmere Road, in the Takapuna area.

Epsom Campus
Epsom Campus is the most recent addition and lies in the Epson area.