Sudan Maps and Orientation

(Sudan, SD, North-East Africa)

Officially known as the Republic of Sudan, this huge country is also often referred to as North Sudan, following its split from the former southern section of the nation in the middle of 2011.

Located within North Africa, this country is almost entirely landlocked, except for its northeastern border, which fronts the Red Sea and is where you will find the popular beach resort of Port Sudan. Egypt resides directly to the north and enjoys good connections, while Eritrea lies to the east and Ethiopia to the south-east.

A small section of south-western Sudan borders the Central African Republic, while Chad is located to the west and lines the majority of the lengthy western border. Libya is to be found directly to the north-west, where the distant seaport city of Tripoli calls itself the capital and lives next to the Mediterranean Sea.

Maps and Orientation of the Country

The country comprises five main regions, namely Central, Eastern and Northern Sudan, as well as Darfur and Kurdufan, and these are clearly depicted on most maps of the country.

Khartoum is the nation's capital city and is made up of both Khartoum North and Omdurman. Further Sudanese cities of note include Al Ubayyid, Gedaref, Kassala, Meroe, Nyala and Port Sudan, the latter of which is home to a busy airport and some excellent dive spots along its Red Sea shoreline.

The following seven countries surround Sudan:

Map of Africa

Africa map

Map of Sudan